LIAG
 

Section 2: Geoelectrics and Electromagnetics

Section members in March 2016 (from left to right): Frank Oppermann, Tamas Lukasz, Marion Miensopust, Sam Stadler, Mathias Ronczka, Mike Müller-Petke, Dieter Epping, Jan Igel, Markus Loewer, Nico Skibbe, Michael Grinat, Raphael Rochlitz, Thomas Günther (Angelika Ullmann and Robert Meyer are missing)

The section "Geoelectrics and Electromagnetics" is doing experimental and theoretical work on direct current geoelectrics, induced polarisation, low frequency electromagnetics and GPR. The research activities contribute to the exploration of accessible underground zones and are classified within three disciplines: Methodological Developments in Geoelectrics, Shallow Structure Exploration, and Technical Developments.

The work of the section concentrates on the development of new methods and equipment. A great deal of work is also carried out in the other key research areas: groundwater systems - structure, quality, processes and terrestrial sediment archives / structure, genesis, age as well as part of the junior research group “subrosion”

Electric surveying methods such as direct current geoelectrics, induced polarisation, and electromagnetics, are particularly useful for the exploration of groundwater systems, ore bodies, landfills, and contaminated sites. They are also being increasingly used in mine clearance, modern agriculture, paedology and archaeology - areas where ground radar is also being successfully used.

Social relevance

Exploring the underground at depths influenced by anthropogenic effects provides greater understanding of the structure and dynamics of the uppermost part of the earth’s crust, and therefore has economic as well as ecological relevance. Underground geological structures can be surveyed with the help of high resolution geoelectric and electromagnetic techniques. In recent years, there has been a considerable increase in the significance of shallow investigations. Findings from the shallow surveys are of interest to modern agriculture, soil scientists, the clean-up of environmental pollution, as well as clearing anti-personnel mines.

The wide range of geophysical methods available to the section have proven to be indispensable for the solution of the questions put to the group. When tackling these questions, and for the purposes of the disciplines used by the section, the work involves the development of new methods or optimisation of existing methods, as well as their field testing, and development for practical applications.

LIAG
 

Sektion 2: Geoelektrik und Elektromagnetik

Mitarbeiter der Sektion im März 2016 (von links nach rechts): Frank Oppermann, Tamas Lukasz, Marion Miensopust, Sam Stadler, Mathias Ronczka, Mike Müller-Petke, Dieter Epping, Jan Igel, Markus Loewer, Nico Skibbe, Michael Grinat, Raphael Rochlitz, Thomas Günther (Angelika Ullmann und Robert Meyer fehlen)

Die Sektion ‚Geoelektrik und Elektromagnetik’ führt experimentelle und theoretische Arbeiten auf den Teilgebieten Gleichstromgeoelektrik, Induzierte Polarisation, Niederfrequenz-Elektromagnetik und Georadar durch. Die Forschungsaktivitäten sind Beiträge zur Erkundung des nutzbaren Untergrundes und lassen sich den Bereichen Entwicklungen von Auswerte- und Inversionsverfahren, Oberflächennahe Erkundung und Entwicklung von Messverfahren und -technik zuordnen.

Der Schwerpunkt der Sektionsarbeit ist die Entwicklung neuer Methoden und Geräte. Umfangreiche Arbeiten erfolgen jedoch auch im Rahmen der Forschungsschwerpunkte Grundwassersysteme - Struktur, Qualität, Prozesse und Terrestrische Sedimentarchive - Struktur, Genese, Alter sowie der Nachwuchsgruppe "Subrosion"

Elektrische Messverfahren wie die Gleichstromgeoelektrik, die Methode der Induzierten Polarisation und die Elektromagnetik eignen sich besonders gut zur Untersuchung von Grundwassersystemen, Erzkörpern, Deponien und Altlastenflächen. Daneben kommen sie zunehmend bei der Minensuche, in der modernen Landwirtschaft, der Bodenkunde und der Archäologie zum Zuge, wo jeweils auch das Bodenradar erfolgreich eingesetzt wird.

Gesellschaftliche Relevanz

Die Erforschung des Untergrundes im anthropogen beeinflussbaren Tiefenbereich erweitert das Verständnis des Aufbaus und der Dynamik des obersten Teils der Erdkruste und berührt damit wirtschaftliche und ökologische Interessen gleichermaßen. Mithilfe hoch auflösender geoelektrischer und elektroma­gnetischer Verfahren werden geologische Untergrundstrukturen erfasst. Erheblich an Bedeutung gewonnen haben in den letzten Jahren die Einsatzmöglichkeiten im flachgründigen Bereich. Die Fragestellungen kommen hier aus der modernen Landwirtschaft, der Bodenkunde, der Sanierung von Umweltschäden sowie der Suche nach Anti-Personen-Minen.

Die Vielfalt der in der Sektion vorhandenen geophysikalischen Methoden erweist sich für die Lösung der auftretenden Fragestellungen als unverzichtbar. Für die genannten Aufgaben und die in der Sektion eingesetzten Disziplinen werden neue Methoden entwickelt oder bestehende Verfahren optimiert, im Feldeinsatz erprobt und zur Anwendung geführt.