LIAG
 

Research borehole 2014


Scientific questions

Leaning Tower of Bad Frankenhausen and drilling rig (photo: H. Buness, 2014).

More tilted than the Leaning Tower of Pisa is the Leaning Tower of Bad Frankenhausen in Thuringia. Subrosion – the cause of this tilt and abundant sinkholes in entire Thuringia – is a phenomenon that describes solution of material in the subsurface. It takes places for instance in salt, but also in other soluble rocks. After comprehensive geophysical and geological site surveys in the urban district, the borehole was located close to the former church called Oberkirche.

Geophysical identification and characterisation of subrosion phenomena and processes are in the scientific focus of this research borehole using the example of Bad Frankenhausen for investigation of a subsidence area down to 400 m depth.

The following questions are addressed:

  • recovery of drill cores for the determination of rock properties in different layers,
  • characterisation of the subsurface and existence of disaggregation zones or voids,
  • borehole geophysics for petrophysical parameter determination and fracturing,
  • geophysical transmission experiments between the new and old boreholes,
  • setup of a 3-D subsurface model and spatio-temporal changes.

Results

Drill core with Staßfurt rock salt recovered between 370-400 m depth (photo: TLUG, 2015).

The research borehole commenced early October 2014 and was finished in April 2015.  It will let open as long as possible for geophysical investigations.  LIAG works closely together with the Thuringian Geological Survey (TLUG) who owns a considerable amount of geoscientific data for Bad Frankenhausen.

The borehole was drilled down to 457.5 m depth.  The upper 163 m contain anhydrite, salt, carbonates, and different breccia.  Down to the main fault plane of the Kyffhäuser South Fault, that was penetrated at 347.7 m depth, older strata of Permocarboniferous age (e.g., sandstone, conglomerate) overlie younger Zechstein layers (e.g., anhydrite, salt).  The prominent Stinkschiefer (limestone, smelling of bitumen) allows a first estimate of the fault offset reaching ca. 350 m at the fault.

LIAG
 

Forschungsbohrung 2014


Zielsetzung

Der Schiefe Turm von Bad Frankenhausen und Bohrgerät (Photo: H. Buness, 2014).

Schiefer als der Turm von Pisa ist der Kirchturm von Bad Frankenhausen in Thüringen. Die Subrosion -als Ursache für diese Schiefstellung und Erdfälle in ganz Thüringen- ist ein Phänomen, das die Lösung von Material im Untergrund beschreibt.  Sie ist an z.B. Salz oder andere lösliche Gesteinstypen gebunden. Nach umfangreichen geophysikalischen und geologischen Voruntersuchungen im Stadtgebiet wurde die Bohrung nahe der ehemaligen Oberkirche platziert.

Die geophysikalische Identifikation und Charakterisierung von Phänomenen der Subrosion und dabei stattfindenden Prozessen steht als Zielstellung der Forschungsbohrung im Vordergrund, um am Beispiel von Bad Frankenhausen ein Senkungsgebiet bis zu 400 m tief zu erforschen.  Im Einzelnen werden dabei folgende Fragestellungen verfolgt:

  • Gewinnung von Bohrkernproben zur Bestimmung der Eigenschaften der Gesteinsschichten,
  • Charakterisierung des Untergrunds und des Vorhandenseins von Auflockerungszonen oder Hohlräumen,
  • Bohrlochmessungen zur Bestimmung von petrophysikalischen Parametern und Klüftigkeiten,
  • geophysikalische Durchstrahlungsexperimente zwischen diesem und alten Bohrlöchern,
  • Erarbeiten eines 3-D Untergrundmodells und der räumlich-zeitlichen Veränderungen.

Ergebnisse

Bohrkern mit Staßfurt-Steinsalz, das zwischen 370-400 m Tiefe erbohrt wurde (Photo: TLUG, 2015).

Die Forschungsbohrung begann Anfang Oktober 2014 und wurde im April 2015 beendet. Zusätzlich wird die Bohrung so lange wie möglich dauerhaft als Messstelle für geophysikalische Messungen offen gehalten. Dabei arbeitet das LIAG eng mit der Thüringer Landesanstalt für Umwelt und Geologie (TLUG) zusammen, wo bereits umfangreiche geowissenschaftliche Daten zu Bad Frankenhausen vorliegen.

Die Bohrung wurde bis in eine Tiefe von 457,5 m abgeteuft. Die obersten 163 m bestehen aus Anhydrid, Salz, Karbonaten und verschiedenen Brekzien.  Bis zur Hauptstörungsfläche der Kyffhäuser-Südrandstörung, die in 347,7 m Tiefe durchbohrt wurde, liegen dann ältere Gesteine des Permokarbons (z.B. Sandsteine, Konglomerate) über jüngeren Gesteinen des Zechsteins (z.B. Anhydrit, Steinsalz).  Der markante Stinkschiefer (Kalkstein, der nach Bitumen riecht) erlaubt eine erste Abschätzung des Störungsversatzes von ca. 350 m entlang der Störung.