LIAG
 

GeoParaMoL

Geophysical parameter to determine facies of the Malm und modelling of the thermal-hydraulic long time behaviour

Aims

The Bavarian Molasse Basin constitutes the most important area for geothermal energy extraction in Germany, in the short as well as in the medium run. The scientific monitoring and the networking of research and application projects are essential to the success of heat and power generation.

Stadtwerke München Services GmbH (SWM) generates the basis for an area-wide exploitation of a large geothermal concession that covers the southern part of the city of greater Munich in a project called GRAME (optimized and sustainable reservoir development of deep geothermal sites in the Bavarian Molasse). It is projected that approximately 50 wells will extract ~400 MWth and will be part of the significant contribution of CO2 reduction in Germany. Pending questions for such a large-scale project comprise the reconnaissance and characterization of the subsurface, the design of the facilities on the surface and acceptance by the public.

An important aspect of the subsurface investigation is the implementation of a 3D seismic survey covering 170 km2 the southern part of Munich. It will clarify the following geoscientific questions:

  • What are the geological and hydrogeological characteristics of the reservoir to guarantee its sustainable use?
  • Under which conditions can heat extraction of 400 MW be carried out in one concession without unwanted interference of the single wells and also the neighbouring concessions?

The Project GeoParaMoL

GeoParaMol provides scientific assistance to GRAME, in collaboration with Erdwerk GmbH and the Institute for Energy Systems at the Technische Universität München. It focuses on the open questions of the SWM project:

„A major prerequisite for an effective and sustainable pattern of wells is the most accurate knowledge of the geology deduced from 3D seismic surveys. Especially the spatial distribution of the lithofacies consisting of reef complexes and intercalated basins seems to play a key role in the productivity of wells. However, also large fault systems may influence the hydraulic behavior of wells by decoupling of aquifers, if they show a large throw.”

The topics of this project are appropriate to enhance the conclusiveness of seismic data, even in the absence of borehole information for calibration and to deliver the geophysical parameter for the realization of the GRAME project. In detail, GeoParaMoL focuses on 4 working subjects:

  1. Develoment and testing of methods for seismic attribute analysis, diffraction imaging and velocity determination together with the appropriate visualization.
  2. Use of shear (S)-waves to support facies interpretation, to determine s-wave velocity field and to deduce the elastic parameters.
  3. Thermal-hydraulic modelling to estimate the spatial interference of production and injection wells in their long-term behavior.
  4. Retrodeformation to predict the transmissibility, based on deformation analysis.

References

Edelmann, H. & Schmoll, J. (1983): Scherwellenseismik. PRAKLA-SEISMOS Report 3+4, 6-17.

Lüschen, E., Wolfgramm, M., Fritzer, T., Dussel, M., Thomas, T. & Schulz, R. (2014): 3D seismic survey explores geothermal targets for reservoir characterization at Unterhaching, Munich, Germany. Geothermics 50, 167-179.

Schulz, R. & Thomas, R. (Hrsg.) Mit Beiträgen von Dussel, M., Lüschen, E. et al. (2012): Geothermische Charakterisierung von karstig-klüftigen Aquiferen im Großraum München – Endbericht. – LIAG-Bericht, Archiv-Nr. 130 392, 98S.; Hannover.

Ziesch, J., Tanner, D.C., Beilecke, T. & Krawczyk, C.M. (2015): Prediction of sub-seismic faults and fractures to ensure carbon traps - joint project PROTECT. European Geosciences Union General Assembly 2015, Vienna, Austria.

 

Project Team

  • Dr. Ernesto Meneses Rioseco
  • Dr. Hartwig von Hartmann
  • Dr. Britta Wawerzinek
  • Dr. Jennifer Ziesch

Duration

01.05.2015 - 31.07.2018

Funding

LIAG
 

GeoParaMoL

Geophysikalische Parameter zur faziellen Interpretation des Malm und Modellierung des thermisch-hydraulischen Langzeitverhaltens

Rahmen

Das Süddeutsche Molassebecken ist kurz- und mittelfristig das wichtigste Gebiet für die geothermische Energienutzung in Deutschland. Ein wesentliches Mittel zum erfolgreichen Ausbau der geothermischen Wärme- und Stromgewinnung in dieser Region besteht in der wissenschaftlichen Begleitung und Vernetzung von Forschungsvorhaben sowie laufenden und neuen Forschungs- und Anwendungsprojekten.

Die Stadtwerke München Services GmbH (SWM) erarbeiten im Projekt GRAME (Ganzheitlich optimierte und nachhaltige Reservoirerschließung für tiefengeothermische Anlagen im bayerischen Molassebecken) Grundlagen für die flächendeckende Nutzung eines Erlaubnisfeldes im Süden Münchens mit bis zu 50 Bohrungen und einer Leistung von bis zu 400 MWth. Das Potenzial der hydrothermalen Geothermie im bayerischen Molassebecken soll dadurch sehr viel besser genutzt werden wie bisher und damit einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur CO2-Einsparung in Deutschland leisten. Um die optimierte Reservoirerschließung zu ermöglichen, sollen Fragestellungen der Erkundung und Charakterisierung des Untergrundes, der Anlagenauslegung und der Projektdurchführung von solchen Großprojekten bearbeitet werden.

Für den untertägigen Bereich ist ein zentraler Punkt die Durchführung einer 170 m2 umfassenden 3D-Seismik im Süden Münchens, die eine Beantwortung der geowissenschaftlichen Fragestellungen ermöglichen soll:

  • Wie ist der Untergrund geologisch bzw. hydrogeologisch aufgebaut, so dass eine dauerhafte Erschließung der gesamten geothermischen Ressource gewährleistet ist?
  • Wie muss eine untertägige Erschließung aussehen, um thermische Leistungen von 400 MW pro Erkundungsfeld zu ermöglichen, ohne ungewünschte Wechselwirkungen zwischen den Bohrungen bzw. mit Nachbarfeldern hervorzurufen?

Das Projekt GeoParaMoL

Das Projekt GeoParaMoL des LIAG begleitet das Vorhaben GRAME wissenschaftlich zusammen mit der Erdwerk GmbH und dem Lehrstuhl für Energiesysteme der TU München. Es baut auf den speziellen Fragestellungen des SWM-Antrags schwerpunktmäßig auf:

„Eine möglichst genaue Kenntnis der Geologie im Untergrund aus 3D Seismik ist wesentliche Voraussetzung für die richtige und nachhaltige Anordnung der Bohrungen. Besonders die räumliche Verteilung der Lithofazies in Form von Riffkomplexen und Becken spielt bei der Produktivität und Injektivität der einzelnen Bohrungen die zentrale Rolle. Aber auch der Einfluss großer Störungssysteme kann sich z.B. durch einen entsprechend hohen Versatz und eine Entkoppelung der Grundwasser leitenden Schichten auf die Hydraulik der benachbarten Bohrungen auswirken.“

Die im vorliegenden Antrag zu bearbeitenden Themen sollen zu einem hohen Maß die Aussagefähigkeit der seismischen Daten auch ohne Vorliegen einer Kalibrationsbohrung im Erlaubnisfeld verbessern und die notwendigen geophysikalischen Parameter zur Umsetzung des Projektes GRAME liefern. Im Einzelnen verteilen sich die Arbeiten auf vier Arbeitsschwerpunkte, die untereinander inhaltlich eng verknüpft sind:

  1. Entwicklung und Beschreibung von Verfahren zur seismischen Faziesanalyse, Diffraktionsauswertung und Geschwindigkeitsfeldbestimmung mit entsprechender Visualisierung.
  2. Einbeziehung von Scher (S)-Wellen zur Unterstützung der faziellen Interpretation und Bestimmung der S-Wellen-Geschwindigkeiten sowie Auswertung des ganzen Wellenfeldes zur Bestimmung der elastischen Parameter.
  3. Thermisch-hydraulische Modellierung, um die räumliche Interferenz von Produktions-und Injektionsbohrungsarrays im Langzeitverhalten darzustellen.
  4. Retrodeformation zur Vorhersage der Transmissibilität aufbauend auf Verformungsanalysen.

Literatur

Edelmann, H. & Schmoll, J. (1983): Scherwellenseismik. PRAKLA-SEISMOS Report 3+4, 6-17.

Lüschen, E., Wolfgramm, M., Fritzer, T., Dussel, M., Thomas, T. & Schulz, R. (2014): 3D seismic survey explores geothermal targets for reservoir characterization at Unterhaching, Munich, Germany. Geothermics 50, 167-179.

Schulz, R. & Thomas, R. (Hrsg.) Mit Beiträgen von Dussel, M., Lüschen, E. et al. (2012): Geothermische Charakterisierung von karstig-klüftigen Aquiferen im Großraum München – Endbericht. – LIAG-Bericht, Archiv-Nr. 130 392, 98S.; Hannover.

Ziesch, J., Tanner, D.C., Beilecke, T. & Krawczyk, C.M. (2015): Prediction of sub-seismic faults and fractures to ensure carbon traps - joint project PROTECT. European Geosciences Union General Assembly 2015, Vienna, Austria.

 

Projektgruppe

  • Dr. Ernesto Meneses Rioseco
  • Dr. Hartwig von Hartmann
  • Dr. Britta Wawerzinek
  • Dr. Jennifer Ziesch

Laufzeit

01.05.2015 - 31.07.2018

Förderung