LIAG
 

Groundwater systems and hydrogeophysics

Water - our most important good (food, comestible)

The aim of this topical research field is to improve the knowledge on structure and dynamics of groundwater systems as well as the quality of groundwater. The investigations focus on selected exemplary cases.

The sufficient availability of clean drinking water is a basic requirement of human life. Natural groundwater systems represent the most important drinking water resource. Their survival is increasingly under threat worldwide through intensive use and anthropogenic influence. Consequences of climate change on groundwater resources also raise new and challenging questions. The protection of this natural basic requirement of life within the bounds of a sustainable development is in the interest of being. The comprehension of water resources is of great importance for the water supply concept as well as for the valuation of the natural protection capacity of covering layers concerning anthropogenic pollution. The quantity of freshwater is often limited in depth by the saltwater/freshwater boundary.

Clever management of this natural environment requires profound knowledge of the extent of the groundwater bodies and those processes that occur within them. The basis for this is observational research and measurements on different spatial and time scales. Inherent heterogeneity of the subsurface and limitations in access by boreholes require the need of modern surveying techniques and complex interpretation algorithms.

The work in this LIAG topical research field concentrates on

 

Coordinator

Dr. Helga Wiederhold
 +49 (0)511 643-3520

Dissertation

Lithological relevance of near-surface seismic velocity model
Geophysical characterization of buried valley aquifer system

Videos

CLIWAT video on Youtube

Links

Zwischenruf "Water: beware!"

LIAG
 

Grundwassersysteme - Hydrogeophysik

Wasser – unser wichtigstes Lebensmittel

Ziel des Forschungsschwerpunktes ist es, neue Erkenntnisse über die Struktur und dynamische Entwicklung von Grundwassersystemen sowie die Qualität des Grundwassers zu gewinnen. Die Untersuchungen konzentrieren sich auf ausgewählte Systeme mit exemplarischem Charakter.

Die ausreichende Verfügbarkeit von sauberem Trinkwasser ist eine unverzichtbare Lebensgrundlage des Menschen. Natürliche Grundwassersysteme stellen die wichtigste Trinkwasserressource dar. Ihr Fortbestand ist durch intensive Nutzung und vielfältige anthropogene Einflussfaktoren zunehmend gefährdet. Auch werfen die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels auf die Grundwassersysteme neue herausfordernde Fragen auf. Die Erhaltung dieser natürlichen Lebensgrundlage des Menschen im Rahmen einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung ist von existenziellem Interesse. Das Verständnis von Grundwassersystemen ist sowohl bei der wasserwirtschaftlichen Rahmenplanung als auch bei einer Bewertung der Barrierefunktion des Deckgebirges im Falle anthropogen verursachter Eintragungen in den Untergrund von wesentlicher Bedeutung. Ein Mengen begrenzender Faktor ist häufig auch die Süß-/Salzwassergrenze als natürliche Unterkante von Trinkwasservorkommen.

Die Fähigkeit, aussagekräftige Prognosen über den Zustand und Veränderungen von Grundwassersystemen zu treffen, setzt ein vertieftes Verständnis aller wirksamen Prozesse voraus. Grundlage hierfür sind Beobachtungen und Messergebnisse auf verschiedenen räumlichen und zeitlichen Skalen. Die inhärente Heterogenität des geologisch geprägten Untergrundes bei gleichzeitig beschränkten Aufschlussmöglichkeiten durch Bohrungen verlangt den Einsatz moderner Erkundungsverfahren und die Anwendung komplexer Interpretationsalgorithmen.

Die Arbeiten im Schwerpunkt konzentrieren sich aktuell auf die folgenden Themenfelder: