LIAG
 

Junior Research Group Subrosion

The most obvious surface expression of subrosion is a sinkhole (top left: near Bad Frankenhausen, Thuringia, Germany; bottom left: Innerste Mulde, Lower Saxony, Germany). In Bad Frankenhausen, e.g., the tilted tower demonstrates clearly that subrosion comprises far more than just sinkholes visible at surface. The tilt of the tower is due to subsurface leaching and void formation.

Subrosion, i.e., leaching of soluble rocks such as rock salt, anhydrite, gypsum and limestone mostly due to groundwater, is usually of natural origin but can additionally be enhanced by anthropogenic interferences. In recent years, public awareness of subrosion processes in terms of the in parts catastrophic implications and incidences increased. Especially the sinkholes in Schmalkalden and Tiefenort (Thuringia, Germany) are – based on the unforeseen collapse events and associated damage in 2010 – two dramatic examples. They illustrate that to date the present knowledge of those processes and therefore the predictability of such events is insufficient.

The complexity of the processes requires an integrated geophysical approach which investigates the coupling of structure, hydraulics, solution processes and mechanics and finally contributes to a better understanding of the processes by reliable imaging and characterization of subrosion structures.

Since mid 2014, the junior research group Subrosion of LIAG is inter-sectional engaged in geophysical investigation of subrosion processes. The focus of the junior research group is the application, enhancement and combination of various geophysical methods at the surface but also in boreholes. This includes monitoring of (surface) deformation and variation of gravity as well as seismic, geoelectric and electromagnetic methods. Petrophysical investigations (with focus on spectral induced polarisation – SIP) are conducted to characterise the processes on pore scale. Numerical studies are applied to advance the understanding of void forming processes and the mechanical consequences in the dynamic interaction. Those subtopics are strongly interconnected.

The following topics are the major focus of the junior research group:

Petrophysics

Surface Deformation

Electromagnetics

Seismics

Numerical Modelling

LIAG
 

Nachwuchsgruppe Subrosion

Die offensichtlichste Form von Subrosion sind Erdfälle (oben links: nahe Bad Frankenhausen, Thüringen; unten links: Innerste Mulde, Niedersachsen). Das Beispiel des Schiefen Turms von Bad Frankenhausen verdeutlich, dass Subrosion weit mehr umfasst als nur die oberflächlich sichtbaren Erdfälle. Die Neigung des Turms ist auf unterirdische Ablaugung und Hohlraumbildung zurückzuführen.

Subrosion, d.h. Ablaugung an löslichen Gesteinen wie Steinsalz, Anhydrit, Gips und Kalkstein durch zumeist Grundwasser, hat häufig natürliche Ursachen, die ggf. durch anthropogene Eingriffe zusätzlich verstärkt werden. In den zurückliegenden Jahren sind Subrosionsprozesse in Form der damit einhergehenden, zum Teil katastrophalen Auswirkungen und Ereignisse zunehmend in die Wahrnehmung der breiten Öffentlichkeit gerückt. Die Erdfälle in Schmalkalden und Tiefenort (Thüringen) in 2010 stellen aufgrund der unvorhergesehenen Kollapsereignisse und damit verbundenen Schäden zwei der eindringlichsten Beispiele dar. Sie verdeutlichen, dass das existierende Prozessverständnis und damit die Prognosefähigkeit solcher Ereignisse bisher nicht ausreichend sind.

Die Komplexität der Prozesse erfordert einen integrierten geophysikalischen Ansatz, welcher die Kopplung von Struktur, Hydraulik, Lösungsprozessen und Mechanik erforscht und letztlich mittels einer zuverlässigen Abbildung und Charakterisierung von Subrosionsstrukturen zu einem verbesserten Prozessverständnis beiträgt.

Seit Mitte 2014 beschäftigt sich die Nachwuchsgruppe Subrosion des LIAG sektionsübergreifend mit der geophysikalischen Erforschung von Subrosionsprozessen. Im Fokus der Nachwuchsgruppe stehen die Anwendung, Verbesserung und Kombination unterschiedlicher geophysikalischer Methoden an der Oberfläche und im Bohrloch. Hierzu gehören Monitoring der (Oberflächen-)Deformation und der Schwereänderung sowie Methoden der Seismik, Geoelektrik und Elektromagnetik. Zur Prozesscharakterisierung auf der Porenskala werden petrophysikalische Untersuchungen (mit Fokus auf Spektraler Induzierter Polarisation – SIP) durchgeführt. Numerische Studien sollen das Verständnis der Prozesse zur Hohlraumentstehung und der mechanischen Konsequenzen im dynamischen Zusammenspiel vorantreiben. Diese Teilaspekte sind stark miteinander vernetzt.

Die Arbeiten der Nachwuchsgruppe sind in folgende Themenfelder unterteilt:

Gesteinsphysik

Oberflächendeformation

Elektromagnetik

Seismik

Numerische Modellierung